

PRESS RELEASE

SIGMACHAPTER.ORG

Students inducted into new Sigma Chapter Honorary Societies April 25, 2016

At the 25th Annual Gamma Gala held on Friday, April 15, 2016, students in the Actuarial Science and Risk Management and Insurance major were inducted into one of the two honorary societies newly formed within the Sigma Chapter. These societies aim to highlight those students in the Sigma Chapter's Student Engagement Program who are exceptionally dedicated to their education both in and out of classroom.

The Sigma Chapter began the Student Engagement program in the Spring of 2015 as a way to reward Risk Management and Insurance and Actuarial Science students who are taking the initiative to further develop their professional and personal self by participating in career development, academic and community involvement, exam progress, and networking events. This semester, we had over one hundred students participate in the program.

Twenty-five members in the Actuarial Science major were inducted into the Glendenning Honorary Society for outstanding involvement in the Sigma Chapter. Professor William Glendenning was an Actuarial Science professor and the first faculty advisor for the Sigma Chapter when it was charter in November of 1980. He played a major role in the development of the Actuarial Science program in The Fox School of Business.

Sixteen members in the Risk Management and Insurance major were inducted into the H. Wayne Snider Honorary Society for their outstanding involvement in the Sigma Chapter. Dr. H. Wayne Snider was a professor in the Risk Management and Insurance Department and was largely responsible for introducing the world to Risk Management and for starting the Risk Management and Insurance Department at Temple University.

2016 Members of the Glendenning Honorary Society:



Elizabeth Arbegast



Patrick Cohen



Kyle Betley



Jamya Day



Brenna Burke



Nicolino Ellis



Elizabeth Carr



Timothy Ellis



Katelyn Heller



Carolyn Murset





David Orsi



Ian McConnell



Anuj Patel





Ashwani Poonie



Mary Grace Sear



Joseph Shamah



Rose Sheehan



Peter Shen



Zachary Silva



Mallory Sloss



Sohan Vijayanagar



Seunghyun Jung

2016 Glendenning Honorary Society Scholarship Recipients:

Kyle Betley

Sean Miller

Daniel Sakhnovskiy

Carolyn Murset

Patrick Cohen

Mary Grace Sear

Timothy Ellis

Not Pictured: Daniel Sakhnovskiy

2016 Members of the H. Wayne Snider Honorary Society:



2016 H. Wayne Snider Honorary Society Scholarship Recipients:

Rachel Becker Austin Greisler
Brian Booth Daniel Morgis
George Braun Shannon Nolan

Anthony Cianciulli