

SIGMA CHAPTER Press Release





SigmaChapter.org

31st Annual Awards for Excellence Dinner

Thursday, April 18, 2019

The Department of Risk, Insurance, and Healthcare Management, in conjunction with the Sigma Chapter of Gamma Iota Sigma, held its 31st Annual Awards for Excellence Dinner on the evening of **April 11, 2019** at the Hyatt at the Bellevue in Center City, Philadelphia. This annual event brings together our vast network of alumni and industry professionals and serves as a platform to highlight the progress and accomplishments of students, alumni, and the entire Risk, Insurance, and Healthcare Management Department.

The prestigious event aims to recognize students in Risk Management and Actuarial Science who have excelled in their studies, as well as alumni who have made standout career accomplishments in the industry. The evening consists of a cocktail hour, dinner, awards, and remarks from a keynote speaker. The 31st Annual Awards for Excellence Dinner keynote speaker was Tom Ridge, Chairman of Ridge Global LLC, former Secretary of Homeland Security, former Governor of Pennsylvania, and former 6-term Congressman. Mr. Ridge talked about the role of risk management in our everyday lives.









The following is a summary of the distinguished students and alumni who were recognized at the dinner for their outstanding achievements:

2019 Alumni Award Recipients



2019 Norman A. Baglini Distinguished Young Alumni Award in Risk Management and Insurance

Kara C. Owens, CPCU, RPLU, ARe
Managing Director
Global Cyber Underwriting Executive
Markel Corporation
Class of 2007



2019 G. William Glendenning Distinguished Young Alumni Award In Actuarial Science Tina Biddle, ACAS Head of Commercial Lines Pricing New Jersey Manufacturers Insurance Group Class of 2008



2019 Bonnie Averbach Distinguished Alumni Award in Actuarial Science Christopher Tait, FCAS, MAAA Principal, Consulting Actuary Milliman Class of 1987



2019 H. Wayne Snider Distinguished Alumni Award in Risk Management and Insurance Kevin Fee Chief Operating Officer Ironshore Environmental Class of 1999

2019 Graduating Senior Award Recipients



2019 G. William Glendenning Award for Excellence in Actuarial Science

Ashley Abadiotakis
Senior Actuarial Science Major
Class of 2019



2019 G. William Glendenning Award for Excellence in Actuarial Science Danielle Kerrigan

Danielle Kerrigan Senior Actuarial Science Major Class of 2019



2019 Joseph E. Boettner Award for Excellence in Risk Management

Matthew Manzo
Senior Risk Management and
Insurance Major
Class of 2019



2019 Jerry S. Rosenbloom Award in Employee Benefits

Christian Mozeleski, GBA
Senior Risk Management and
Insurance Major
Class of 2018



Risk Management

Alana Vicale

Senior Risk Management and
Insurance Major

Class of 2019



Memorial Award for Professionalism and Ethics Nicholas Duesberry

Senior Risk Management and Insurance Major Class of 2019



2019 Nancy Barrett Baglini Memorial Award for Professionalism and Ethics

Ryan Klapatch
Senior Actuarial Science Major
Class of 2019

2019 Merit Award Recipients



2019 Outstanding Academic Achievement in Actuarial Science

Lussine Oganyan Senior Actuarial Science Major Class of 2019



2019 Outstanding Academic Achievement in Actuarial Science

Kevin Salfi Senior Actuarial Science Major Class of 2019



2019 Outstanding Professional Development in Actuarial Science

Thai Huynh Senior Actuarial Science Major Class of 2019



2019 Outstanding Academic Achievement in Actuarial Science

Tracey TranSenior Actuarial Science Major
Class of 2019



2019 Actuarial Science Graduate Student Award Jaspal Brar Graduate Actuarial Science Major



2019 Outstanding Academic Achievement in Risk Management and Insurance

Daniel Coyle, GBA Class of 2018



2019 Outstanding Academic Achievement in Risk Management and Insurance

Nicholas Vilov

Senior Risk Management and
Insurance Major

Class of 2019



2019 Outstanding Professional Development Risk Management and Insurance

Berk C. Atillasoy, GBA
Senior Risk Management and
Insurance Major
Class of 2019



2019 Outstanding Professional Development in Risk Management and Insurance Brian Fritz

Senior Risk Management and Insurance Major Class of 2019



2019 Outstanding Service to Gamma lota Sigma

Jayde Lim Ah Tock
Senior Actuarial Science Major
Class of 2019





