

## PRESS RELEASE

SIGMACHAPTER.ORG

## Sigma Chapter Attends the 43rd Annual Gamma Iota Sigma Management Conference

October 8, 2014

From October 2-4, 2014, officers and advisors of the Sigma Chapter were in Dallas, Texas to attend the 43<sup>rd</sup> Annual Gamma Iota Sigma Management Conference, co-hosted by the Beta Zeta Chapter at the University of North Texas. The conference offered a comprehensive agenda, including a career fair, educational and leadership sessions, and keynote addresses.

The Sigma Chapter received Chapter Awards for its achievements in Alumni Relations, Chapter Management, Community Service, Membership Development, and Public Relations. In addition, Sigma Chapter earned a Superior Chapter Award, which was given to only three other chapters at the conference.

Sigma Chapter also won four Black and Gold Awards, which recognize a chapter's creativity and extensive planning in the development of new projects and programs. These four awards were given for the Sigma Chapter's RMI Career Development Committee Case Study, Live Broadcast of Organizational Meetings, Mr. Gamma, and Risky Biscuits.

Sigma Chapter members won four individual scholarships. Cathleen Gabriel [Class of 2014] received the Warren L. Weeks Scholarship. Given in tribute to Warren L. Weeks, an outstanding teacher and insurance industry leader, this award is meant to encourage member leadership and the furthering of fraternity goals. The Anita Benedetti Memorial Award was won by current Sigma Chapter President, Steven Costa [Class of 2015], to recognize his superior participation with RIMS at both the local and national levels. Elizabeth Mattox, past Sigma Chapter President [Class of 2014], was awarded the Elizabeth Lange/Microsoft Scholarship Award, which recognizes a member who exhibits the personal character and values of Elizabeth Lange. The Thomas J. Miles Actuarial Award is given to a Gamma Iota Sigma member who embodies the qualities of scholarship, leadership, character, and service that Dr. Miles himself demonstrated. William Thorsson [Class of 2014] won this award.

